Ice Network

Weiss headlines U.S. Figure Skating HOF class

Two-time Olympian joined by world bronze medalists Ina, Zimmerman
  • Ice Network on Facebook
  • Ice Network on Twitter
Michael Weiss won three U.S. titles and two world bronze medals during his competitive career. -Courtesy of U.S. Figure Skating

Three-time U.S. champion Michael Weiss and three-time U.S. pairs champions Kyoko Ina and John Zimmerman have been elected to the U.S. Figure Skating Hall of Fame. Joining them in the Class of 2018 will be Claire Ferguson, the first female president of U.S. Figure Skating, and choreographer Sarah Kawahara.

The Hall of Fame induction will be held Jan. 5, 2017, at the 2018 Prudential U.S. Figure Skating Championships in San Jose, California. Coach Peter Burrows, who was elected to the Class of 2017, will be inducted posthumously.

"Each member of the Class of 2018 has played a significant role in the Olympic Winter Games," said Larry Mondschein, U.S. Figure Skating Hall of Fame Nominating Committee chair. "They have contributed in various ways, including as competitors, as a team leader and official, and as the choreographer of the opening and closing ceremonies. Their legacies will have a lasting impact on our sport."

Weiss, a two-time Olympian and two-time world bronze medalist (1999-2000), won U.S. men's titles in 1999, 2000 and 2003. He is also the first American to land a quadruple toe loop in competition, a feat he accomplished at the World Figure Skating Championships in 1999. Winner of the bronze medal at the 2003 Grand Prix Final, Weiss also earned top-four finishes in each of his nine senior U.S. championships.

After retiring, he started the Michael Weiss Foundation, which has awarded more than $850,000 in scholarship money to promising athletes to help offset costs of the sport. Weiss also serves as a figure skating commentator for NBC, ABC, Universal Sports and icenetwork.

Ina and Zimmerman are the last pairs team to win three consecutive U.S. titles (2000-02) and the last Americans to earn a world pairs medal (2002). Ina, herself, is a three-time Olympian who also represented the U.S. at the 1994 and 1998 Winter Games with Jason Dungjen, with whom she won two U.S. titles. Zimmerman and his wife, Silvia Fontana, coached Americans Haven Denney and Brandon Frazier to the 2013 world junior title, and they are also the coaches of French pairs champions Vanessa James and Morgan Ciprès.

Ferguson is the first female president of the United States Figure Skating Association (1992-95) and the first American woman elected to the International Skating Union Council, an honor bestowed upon her in 1994. Prior to her presidency, Ferguson carried the duties of team leader for the 1980 Olympic Winter Games in Lake Placid, and she served as a national and Olympic judge in 1988. She received her 50-year judge's pin in 2011.

Known for her choreography of television specials, films and touring shows, Kawahara has earned two Emmy Awards for her work on Scott Hamilton: Upside Down and the opening and closing ceremonies of the 2002 Olympic Winter Games. Kawahara has choreographed TV specials for Hamilton, Michelle Kwan, Nancy Kerrigan, Toller Cranston and John Curry. She was inducted into the World Figure Skating Hall of Fame in 2017.